Give zakat to transform others lives

What is zakat ?

Zakat is an obligatory charity in Islam that Muslims must pay every year. The word ‘Zakat’ comes from the Arabic word which means “to purify”. Zakat is a right of poor over the wealthy, it is the duty of every Muslim to fulfill this obligation.

Allah swt says in the Quran: “take from their wealth so that you might purify and sanctify them” (9:103).Zakat helps Muslims purify their wealth. Allah (SWT) has instructed that we give 2.5% of the value of our assets in savings in terms of goods or money to the poor and the needy. Zakat is a debt we owe to Allah and it must be paid on time without delay.

In the world of social injustices and economic inequalities, it is vital that Muslims preserve the tradition of zakat. Zakat helps curb global poverty. Since, zakat is such an important matter in Islam, we must know how to do it correctly.

Who can receive your zakat?

There are 8 categories of people specified in the Quran who are eligible to receive zakat.

Allah says in Quran “The alms are only for the Fuqara’ (the poor), and Al-Masakin (the needy) and those employed to collect (the funds); and to attract the hearts of those who have been inclined (towards Islam); and to free the captives; and for those in debt; and for Allah’s Cause, and for the wayfarer (a traveller who is cut off from everything); a duty imposed by Allah. And Allah is All-Knower, All-Wise.” [Al-Quran 9:60]”

  1. Fuqara : the ones living below the poverty line and cannot meet the daily necessities of life.
  2. Al masakin : the extremely poor who have no source of income, living in terrible conditions.
  3. Debtors : Zakat can be given to pay off debts of someone who cannot repay on his own.
  4. In the path of Allah : those who are striving in the path of Allah are entitled to receive your zakat.
  5. Wayfarer (travelers) : refugees can be given zakat money as they leave their countries because of violence and oppression.
  6. Slaves and Captives
  7. Zakat collector : Zakat can be given to the people who are authorized to collect and distribute it among the needy and poor.
  8. New reverts : those who are newly reverted to Islam and in need of help.

Who should give the zakat?

All Muslim adults who are sane and possess the nisab (a minimum amount of wealth held for a year) should pay Zakat every year.

What is Nisab?

The nisab is a minimum amount of wealth that a Muslim must possess for a whole year before zakat becomes due. Nisab can be determined in terms of gold or silver – The Nisab was set by the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) at a rate equivalent to 87.48 grams of gold and 612.36 grams of silver (85 grams of gold and 595 grams of silver according is another opinion).

Why MadinahGive?

MadinaGive has used zakat to distribute food and water to the most needy people across the world. We have used it to provide urgent humanitarian medical relief and shelter for people in conflict zones.. All Zakat is spent on projects which are within the Zakat eligible categories. We have assisted educational projects and orphan reliefs campaigns. We have a direct donation policy where 100% of your donation goes to the cause. Every zakat campaign is thoroughly verified by zakat experts.

Give with confidence ! Your donations will reach directly to the needy ones.